Congratulations, MacArthur Fellows!

Three of the 2021 MacArthur Fellows who received this year's "Genius Award" supported incarcerated YPEI students in 2020 by participating in YPEI correspondence programming during the pandemic:

  • Music Critic, Essayist, and Poet Hanif Abdurraqib participated in the YPEI Creative Writing Workshop, editing and annotating a unit of readings and prompts for incarcerated YPEI students (accessible here);

  • Dwayne Betts supported students and programming, sending books to each incarcerated YPEI student through YPEI's partnership with Freedom Reads, including his book FELON: POEMS; and

  • Art Historian and Curator Nicole Fleetwood sent copies of her "Marking Time: Art in the Age of Mass Incarceration" to each YPEI student and nurtured their responses to her ground-breaking work.

Congratulations to the Fellows, and thank you for supporting the work of college in prison.